Several bills around the U.S. have been introduced. This includes in New York where sportsmen are being urged to vote “no” for SB 63. The bill, introduced by Senator Brad Holyman (D-Manhattan), would add an additional fee of $5 to each firearm purchase. The additional fee would be earmarked for a joint, gun-violence research project by the University of New York and the State Department of Health.

The Sportsmen’s Alliance reports SB 63 follows the current trend of holding gun owners and sportsmen financially responsible for criminals’ actions. The bill is set to be heard in the Senate Investigations and Government Operations Committee. SB 63 leaves the application of the $5 tax open-ended, failing to specify when the research funding would end.

Connecticut

Connecticut could become the 42nd state to permit Sunday hunting on privately owned property, but it would require an introduced bill to pass.

House Bill 5499 could break a decades-old prohibition blocking hunters from hunting even their own property.

The Sportsmen’s Alliance says Connecticut is currently one of the most restrictive states on Sunday hunting. The only Sunday hunting allowed in Connecticut occurs on licensed, bird-hunting facilities. Even then, the hunter must have the permission at the local level, but this proposed legislation would change that.

“The Sportsmen’s Alliance thanks Rep. Skulczyck for introducing House Bill 5499,” said Luke Houghton, associate director of state services for the Sportsmen’s Alliance. “We encourage Connecticut sportsmen to communicate with their legislators about the importance of this bill for the economy, for conservation and for the freedom to choose what occurs on your own property on a given day.”

Connecticut also introduced Senate Bill 118, which, if passed, would allow gun clubs and ranges to sell ammunition to individuals who do not hold an ammunition certificate. Currently, those living in Connecticut must hold a certificate to buy ammunition.

Minnesota

Minnesota’s House Bill 150 would allow the use of gun scopes on muzzleloaders during the muzzleloader-only hunting season. Under current law, only hunters age 60 or older can use scopes on muzzleloaders.

Vermont

Vermont House Bill 31, if passed, would allow the use of a suppressor when hunting all game. HB 31 would add Vermont to a growing number of states that have legalized suppressors in the last five years. Suppressors are currently legal for hunting in 40 states.